What Are The 7 Stages Of Alzheimer’s Disease?

You should get the support of your loved ones when the stages of Alzheimer’s disease unfold in your life. On the other hand, you have someone in your family or friends group struggling with the Alzheimer’s disease stages, then come up to support them. It is a crucial time for them. They need your love and care to cope with Alzheimer’s disease. The 7 stages of Alzheimer’s disease do not come in neat boxes. Symptoms vary in people. 

You can become a guide to the person who has Alzheimer’s disease complications and show your concern to them. The doctor refers to these stages of Alzheimer’s disease as the progression phase. No cure is available to treat Alzheimer’s disease. 

You have anyone suffering from the health complications of Alzheimer’s disease then, help them. Medicines and your concern will help them to recover. The person will face few changes in the 7 Stages Of Alzheimer’s Disease. It will happen to them over time. 

7 Stages Of Alzheimer’s Disease Are

Stage 1: Changes in the person’s normal behavior 

The first stage in the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s Disease is the changes in the person’s normal behavior. You will experience some changes in the person who is suffering from the complications of Alzheimer’s disease. 

These changes are common and unnoticeable sometimes. Your loved one is in stage 1. Consult the doctor and go for the imaging and PET scan to know about the working condition of the brain. 

These tests can reveal that the person has Alzheimer’s disease or not. Soon, the time passes; you will find some other mild to severe changes in the person’s behavior diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. 

Stage 2: Experience very mild changes

Some small differences will come in the behavior of the person who has Alzheimer’s disease. However, it is difficult for you to notice such changes with time. It usually happens in the 2nd stage of the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s Disease. The subtle symptoms will start occurring in the person’s body.

It will not affect the normal working of that person. Keep in mind that normal changes that happen in a person at the time of aging. First, consult with the doctor then, concludes that your loved one has Alzheimer’s disease or not. 

Stage 3: Notice declining in the thinking & reasoning skills of your loved ones

Stage 3 is when you will observe some changes in your thinking and reasoning skills. The person will start forgetting things, having trouble making plans, cannot remember the names of the people, and ask the same questions every time. You can provide help and support to your loved person by becoming their memory. 

Please help them to remember about the appointments and bill payments. All these things are happening on a timely basis is your duty. Suggest them to retire from the work duties and give the financial responsibilities to other people around them. It will help them stay away from stressful activities. It is the 3rd stage of the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s Disease and an alarm to start caring for the person struggling to deal with the Alzheimer’s disease. 

Stage 4: Moderate decline in thinking skills

You will feel that in stage 4, the person will find it difficult to remember things properly. New issues will appear as the stages progress of Alzheimer’s disease. Your friend or family member might start having the following issues:

  • Start forgetting details related to them. 
  • Trouble to put remember the right date and put it on the cheque. 
  • Forget regarding the season or month.
  • Face problem to cook the meals or order them. 
  • Struggle to use the phone. 
  • Not able to understand what the person is telling about them. 
  • Struggle to do multiple house tasks like cooking and cleaning. 

You have any person around you diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Please help them to do the daily tasks. Check carefully if not anyone is taking their financial benefit. 

Stage 5: Moderate to the severe decline in remembering things

The symptoms will become severe in stage 5. The person will remain confused about their daily life what to wear and eat. You can help them to find their daily clothes to wear in the morning.

Try to make them remember their present time with the help of some imagery stories. They will face issues remembering the phone numbers and addresses. Repeat the same questions to them and stay calm to them at that time. They will ask fewer questions to you as they will get their answers with time. 

Stage 6: Delusions will start

The Alzheimer’s disease in the person progresses then; the person will face difficulty recognizing the names and faces. They will make mistakes Delusions will start in stage 6 of 7 Stages Of Alzheimer’s Disease. They feel that no need to work anymore and sit at home. Things will become worse than, at that point, help them whenever they need it.

Support them to do the routine work. At that time, it will cause problems for you to understand things clearly. It would help if you made efforts to connect with them through the senses—many people who have Alzheimer’s disease-like listening to music and reading books. Your loved ones suffer from skin infections, pneumonia, trouble walking, and sleeping pattern changes in Alzheimer’s disease. 

Stage 7: Severe decline in health

A person with Alzheimer’s disease will be unable to do basic things such as eating, walking, and sitting. All these will start fading in this time. You have to stay with your loved one struggling with Alzheimer’s disease. 

It becomes your responsibility to help them to do the basic things. Your love is the best medicine for them, along with the doctor’s treatment. Still, many people are unable to take proper care of Alzheimer’s patients. They are looking for places to provide day and night professional medical care to the person.

 Someone is going through the end of life. Hospice is a suitable option for them to stay when they are in the final stage of Alzheimer’s disease. The professional hospice care team focuses on providing the patient comfort, pain management, satisfy their emotional needs and fulfill the other medical needs. The person and their family are looking for spiritual support then, the hospice will provide them.  


We have discussed the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s Disease. It is clear to everyone that Alzheimer’s is an incurable disease. Anyone around you is suffering from the disease. Try to become their support and help them. It is difficult for them to stay calm and face these seven stages. Things will become comfortable for them only with your love and support. Do all the things that the person likes the most. It will help them to forget about their illness and live a normal life for a long. The stages of Alzheimer’s disease proceeds then remain attentive with the person. 


How long will the stages of Alzheimer’s disease last?

The initial stages of Alzheimer’s disease will start in 2 to 4 years. Then, the middle stage is for ten years, and finally, the person with Alzheimer’s disease faces the last stage of severe illness for 1 to 3 years. 

Do the people who have Alzheimer’s disease sleep a lot then, normally?

People who have Alzheimer’s disease will find a change in their sleeping patterns. They will start sleeping for a long time then, normally. These changes happen after stage 3 and stage 4 in the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

How long the person who has Alzheimer’s disease will survive?

The person diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease lives for 4 to 8 years. It depends on the medical conditions. The possibility is that the person can survive for 20 years, too, dealing with the complications of the disease. 

Leave a Comment